Oh Niner, Niner. I Sound Like an A-Hole. Over.

17 Jun

A client called this morning for my email address.  My email address contains a few “M’s”, some “C’s” and a “D”.  These particular letters are oftentimes mistaken for other letters of the alphabet which means I usually have to use the phonetic alphabet to spell out my email address. 

I can’t stand doing this because I don’t know the phonetic alphabet.  I get really nervous having to come up with something, and I always end up sounding like a complete:

I– as in, ummmmmmm……ice cube?

D– as in dog (easy).

I– as in (long awkward pause) intervention.  Yes, intervention.   (You’ll note that I didn’t use “ice cube” again.)

O– as in (OMG!  I can’t think of anything that starts with an “O”) Oklahoma.

T– as in toe-ma-toe  (classy).

See what I mean?  Over and out.

11 Responses to “Oh Niner, Niner. I Sound Like an A-Hole. Over.”

  1. accidentalstepmom June 17, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Maybe you should write up a list to have at the ready. I’ll help. M as in Motherf (no, I can’t write that here), C as in Cun… um, Canadian, D as in Douchebag. There, I helped.

  2. Jesse Jaca June 17, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    i always use countries, familiar ones. the ones u always see on TV. and so far i am not running out. LOL

  3. Amy June 19, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I always run into the people who try to use their own phonetic alphabet for letters that could never be mistaken for any other letter. “W as in watermelon” Okay, you didn’t really need to explain that one. “X as in X-ray” Really?

    I do love that you used a different word for “i” each time. Variety is the spice of life.

    • Don't Make That Face June 20, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      HAHAHA! That’s me. I am so nervous and distracted that I will say something like “X” as in xylophone. What? The “X” in xylophone doesn’t even sound like “X”. Or, what about “K” as in knife? I’ve actually done that.

  4. marinasleeps June 19, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    The phonetic alphabet is stupid. Why is there even a list? What dumbass thought of those words cause I could have thought of a way list!! And in reality in word would have worked.
    Alfa? Ass works just as well.
    Who the hell says Foxtrot? Oh thats right nerds!!

    • Don't Make That Face June 20, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      This made me laugh, because you’re right. Only nerds say Foxtrot, but today I’m going to try to work it into every conversation I have. I might actually foxtrot. Who knows.

  5. pissykittyslitterbox.com June 20, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    If it means anything, I’m the same way. I can write beautifully when I want to and can be very eloquent with my words on paper, but sound like I have absolutely no common sense and can’t form a complete sentence when speaking to another. It’s a good thing my friends know I’m smart. I had the people at the bar where I worked fooled too. The really thought I was a dumb blonde (don’t worry I worked it to my advantage). Men love women that seem in peril of their own ignorance, and people in general don’t expect much from you because they don’t feel your capable to doing too much. I say work that in whenever you can get away with it.

    • Don't Make That Face June 20, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      At least you can work it to your advantage. I have 3 blonde friends and I must stay that two of them are complete bimbo airheads (it’s why I love them so), but one is very smart, and was valedictorian of my graduating class (she’s till a bimbo, though).

  6. Crystal June 20, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Yeah, that’s about how I sound. It irritated hubby though since he’s ex-military and I STILL don’t know them!

Leave a Reply

