A Mother’s Unconditional and Fabulous Love

9 May

I was able to spend a lot of time with Son this weekend which is the best gift Mother’s Day gift ever.  That, and a spa day….and some books….and maybe some perfume, but time with Son was good, too. 

I often tell Son how much I love him.  He’s used to it and always indulges me with an “I love you, too”.  This weekend, however, he questioned my love:

Me:  I love you.

Son:  I know.  I love you too.

Me:  I really love you.

Son:    Yep.  Love you, too.

Me:  You’re my favorite thing in the whole world.

Son: I know.  You tell me that all the time.

Me:  I would love you no matter what.

Son:  Sorry.  I’m not gay.  You’re going to have to find your gay somewhere else.

Me:  (sigh) I know.  That’s ok.

Where are you, Mr. Fabulous?

Son:  You’re weird. 

Son:  Would you love me if I didn’t love you back?

Me:  Yes.  It would break my heart, but I would definitely still love you.

Son:  Would you love me if  I married a girl you couldn’t stand?

Me:  I would mastermind a way to break you up, but I would definitely still love you.

Son:  What if….I joined a cult?

Me: For sure!  I would have to infiltrate the cult, and act so incredibly werid that they would kick us both out. 

Son:  What if I was a serial killer?

Me:  That’s dark.  Again, you would break me heart, but yes.  I would still love you.

Son:  I know.  What if I worked for ________________’s Presidential campaign?

(Uncomfortable, awkward silence.)

Me:  I would love you a little less.  But, I love you sooooo much, that you wouldn’t even be able to tell.

Son:  I love you.

15 Responses to “A Mother’s Unconditional and Fabulous Love”

  1. Phases of Me May 9, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Lol! I think odd relationships are the best! You got that one pegged!

  2. Mutterschwester May 9, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Haha! Very funny. Which is darker – serial killer or working for ______’s campaign? 😉

    • Don't Make That Face May 10, 2011 at 11:59 am #

      I’ve been thinking about this. If he’s a serial killer then he’s obviously loony. He wouldn’t be right upstairs. If he worked for _______’s campaign then he would be deliberately going against everything I’ve ever taught him. It would be a conscious choice. So, working for _______’s campaign….definitely worse.

  3. Miz Parker May 9, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    That’s awesome.

  4. smarina77 May 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    That pic made me snort… lol …
    ahhh Son you don’t get it! Just don’t work for said Presidential person.

  5. smarina77 May 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    oh yea smarina77 is actually mariansleeps… dont freak out

  6. Thypolar May 9, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    LMAO! Great conversation 🙂 Are we all related?

  7. Redneckprincess May 9, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Hahahahah…Isn’t messing with them awesome, because otherwise, really…what’s the point!! Mine love me no matter what I do to them too, cause I feed them 🙂

    • Don't Make That Face May 10, 2011 at 11:56 am #

      That’s right! We feed and clothe them. That entitles us to teasing them.

  8. fnkybee May 10, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    I like the way you guys think! hahaha!!!

  9. Pkitass May 10, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Love’d your conversation, no matter what direction the conversation could have gone I’d still love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

