Versace. Meep, Meep.

15 Feb

Years ago, Hubby, Son and I took a trip to South Beach.  We were young and trendy back then, therefore, South Beach was the perfect place to take a 2 year-old on vacation.  Am I right?

Given my affinity with the 90s supermodel, I was on a mission to get a picture of myself in front of Gianni Versace’s South Beach mansion.  The problem was, Versace had just been murdered in front of that house a few weeks before, and the locals were still a little……sensitive.  The last thing I wanted to do in South Beach was look like an insensitive Midwestern tourist posing in front of a crime scene with her husband and baby. I’m way classier than that. 

Long story short, of course I got the picture. I ended up doing a “walk by, pause in front of the house, pretend to look out at the ocean, Hubby takes the picture while he pretends to dig in the diaper bag” thing.   

After Gianni’s death, his sister Donatella took over as Vice-President and Chief Designer of the ingenious Versace line:

 

 

 Versace continues to make some of the most beautiful music clothes in the world.

2 Responses to “Versace. Meep, Meep.”

  1. norma February 15, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    ha ha funny . Now the mansion is used to host parties and exccllussive event in Miami. Never seen such great use of a murder house huh? Funny story though , and might add South Beach isnt a GOOD PLACE and ANYTIME to being a baby lol.

    • Don't Make That Face February 15, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      Glad you liked the post. I hope you come back. I never felt as fabulous as I did in Miami even with the baby.

Leave a Reply

